HHS Home‎ > ‎

Faculty

                     A-E                                              F-R                                                 S-Z

Agricultural Sciences

Jones, Larry - Vocational, Business/Ag Department Chair
Ag. Bus Operation, Diversified Coop, Ag. Power Mechanics, Welding I & II, III, IV. FFA Advisor
Email - ljones@highlandcusd5.org

Barr, Renee - Industrial Ed 1, Industrial Ed 2, Pre-Vet 1 & 2, Pre-Vet 3 & 4, FFA Advisor
Email rbarr@highlandcusd5.org

Durbin, Chris - Architectural Drafting I & II, Technology Orientation I & II, Introduction to Engineering Design, Principles of Engineering, Techonology Student Association Advisor, WYSE Team Coach, Robotics Team Coach, 
Email - cdurbin@highlandcusd5.org

Schmitz, Don - Agriculture Business Management, Turf and Landscaping Management, Intro to Agriculture, Greenhouse Management, Cabinet Making I, II, FFA Advisor
Email dschmitz@highlandcusd5.org

Business

Heinz, Michele- Microsoft Word 2010/Microsoft PowerPoint 2010, Microsoft Excel 2010/Microsoft Access 2010, Windows 7, Computer Concepts, Accounting, Co-Sponsor Future Business Leaders of America, Co-Sponser for the Class of 2018
Email - 
mheinz@highlandcusd5.org

Perkes, Melissa - Computer Graphics I, II, Web Design, Computer Animations, Introduction to Computer Science, Word Processing/Presentations (SWIC dual credit), and Co-Adviser for FBLA - Future Business Leaders of America
Email - mperkes@highlandcusd5.org

Vance, Robert - HHS VIP Representative, Business Ethics, Illinois Career Association Sponsor, Assistant Cross Country Coach, Assistant Boys' Track Coach, Physical Education
Email - rvance@highlandcusd5.org

Counseling

Jackson, Mary - Counseling Department Chair

Counselor for last names Hi-O, Advanced Placement (AP) Coordinator, PSAE Testing Coordinator, Ambassadors Sponsor 

Email - mjackson@highlandcusd5.org

Lieberman, Carrie  – Counselor for last names P-Z

Emailclieberman@highlandcusd5.org

McGlasson, Chris Guidance Secretary

Email cmcglasson@highlandcusd5.org

Spaeth, Amber – Counselor for last names A-HE

Email  aspaeth@highlandcusd5.org

English

Michael Himsel, Susanne - Department Chair

Composition, Eng II, Eng IV 

Email -smichaelhimsel@highlandcusd5.org

Bland, Sarah – Eng I, Honors Eng I, College Writing

Emailsbland@highlandcusd5.org 

Basso, Jason - English II, IV, Creative Writing and Assistant Football Coach

Email – jbasso@highlandcusd5.org

Case Danielle, English II, English III, Public Speaking

Email - dcase@highlandcusd5.org

Dobbs, DeAnna - English ll Basic, English lV Basic, RTI, PASS
Email - ddobbs@highlandcusd5.org

Lewis, Matthew – Eng III, Honors Eng II, Eng I

Email mlewis@highlandcusd5.org
Martz, Susan - Basic English III, School Publication

Email smartz@highlandcusd5.org

Romero, Kimberly – Eng III, Eng II

Email – kromero@highlandcusd5.org


Family & Consumer Science

Jones, Dawn - Foods I, Foods II, Adult Living, Child Development
Email - djones@highlandcusd5.org

Foreign Language

Buchtel, Stephanie – Spanish II, Spanish I

Emailsbuchtel@highlandcusd5.org

Twyford, Karen - Spanish II, Spanish IV, Girls' FCA Advisor
Email - ktwyford@highlandcusd5.org

Wagenblast, Hilary - Spanish I, Spanish II, NHS, Saturday Scholars
Email - hwagenblast@highlandcusd5.org

Math

Duncan, Margie - Mathematics Department Chair
Honors Algebra 2, Pre Calc, ACT Prep, and Intro to Engineering Design
Email -mduncan@highlandcusd5.org

Ayer, Holly - Algebra I, Algebra IA/IB, Algebra II, Model UN Sponsor
Email - hayer@highlandcusd5.org

Hawkins, Joel - Civil War, Geometry, Basic Geometry, FCA Advisor, Head Baseball Coach
Email - jhawkins@highlandcusd5.org

Kimmle, Valerie - Algebra I, Algebra II, Math Team Assistant Coach
Email - vkimmle@highlandcusd5.org

James, Brent - Geometry, Algebra II, PreCalculus
Email -
bjames@highlandcusd5.org

Miscik, Dave - Algebra I, Calculus, Honors Precalculus, Scholar Bowl Coach 
Email - dmiscik@highlandcusd5.org

Uhls, Max - Algebra 1A/1B, Satistics in Sports & Weather, Precalculus, Calculus, and Principles of Engineering
Email
 - muhls@highlandcusd5.org | mathhelp@yahoo.com

Music

Case, John - Fine Arts Department Chair
Symphonic Band, Jazz Band, Pep Band, World Music, Music Appreciation

Email -jcase@highlandcusd5.org

Gibb-Clark, Andrew - Fine Arts Department Chair
Acappella Choir, Chorus, Music Theory, AP Music Theory Director of Madrigal Singers, Jazz Choir, "Onyx", Chamber Choir and CoffeeHouse Cabaret, Madrigal Dinner Director, Musical Theater, Treble Choir, Vocal Techniques
Email - agibbclark@highlandcusd5.org.

Jewell,Tyler  – Assistant Band Director

Email - tjewell@highlandcusd5.org

Physical Education

Hayes, Molly - Physical Education

Email - mhayes@highlandcusd5.org

Houchins, Caleb - Health, PE Conditioning, American History, Junior Varsity Golf Coach, Junior Varsity Baseball Coach
Email - chouchi@highlandcusd5.org

Vance, Robert -Physical Education, HHS VIP Representative, Business Ethics, Illinois Career Association Sponsor, Assistant Cross Country Coach, Assistant Boys' Track Coach, 

Email - rvance@highlandcusd5.org

Warnecke, Jimmy - Conditioning PE, Head Football Coach, US History, US History Basic
Email - jiwarnecke@highlandcusd5.org

Principals

Gauen, Karen - Principal 
Curriculum, School Leadership, 
School Improvement, 
Supervision and Discipline

Houchins, Caleb -Associate Principal

Emailchouchins@highlandcusd5.org

Athletic Director, Special Events Coordinator,Supervision, Student Activity Director, Vocational Administrator, School Leadership, School Improvement, and Discipline

Becker, Chris - Associate Principal

Email cbecker@highlandcusd5.org

Attendance, Student Discipline, HHS Facilities/Grounds Coordinator, School Safety/Disaster Drills, Supervision, School Leadership, Saturday Education Program/SEP, School Detentions Program, S.T.O.P. Program, Short-Term Option Program

Science

Ramsey, Jodie - Science Department Chair

Honors Biology, AP Biology, Life Science
Email - jramsey@highlandcusd5.org

Basden, Liza - AP Chemistry, Honors Chemistry, Life Science, Student Council Co-Sponsor, WYSE Chemistry Sponsor

Email - lbasden@highlandcusd5.org

Buss, Carrie – Biology I, Life Science, Int Science

Email - cbuss@highlandcusd5.org

Golder, Christy - Physics, Conceptual Physics, Physical Science, W.Y.S.E. Physics Sponsor

Email - cgolder@highlandcusd5.org

Hirsch, Gina - Biology I, Anatomy and Physiology, WYSE Biology Sponor, Head Girls' Golf Coach
Email - rhirsch@highlandcusd5.org

Simmons, Kristie - Honors Biology, Chemistry I, Chemistry II, Life Science, Science Olympiad Sponsor

Email - ksimmons@highlandcusd5.org

Social Studies

Beyer, Tina - Department Chair

World History, Geography, Eastern Geography, Honors World History, Student Council Co-Sponsor, Assistant Girls' Track Coach
Email tbeyer@highlandcusd5.org

Bradley, Doug - Geography, World History, Head Boys' & Girls' Cross Country Coach
Email - dbradley@highlandcusd5.org

Holt, Ron - AP Economics, US History, Economics
Email - rholt@highlandcusd5.org

Strong, Todd - World History, Sociology, Psychology, Asst. Basketball & Football Coach
Email - tstrong@highlandcusd5.org

Weber, Sam - Basic World History, U.S. History, Econ, JV Basketball Coach, Assistant Varsity Baseball Coach, 8th Grade Baseball Coach
Email - sweber@highlandcusd5.org

Warnecke, Jimmy - US History, US History Basic, Conditioning PE, Head Football Coach
Email - jiwarnecke@highlandcusd5.org

Special Education

Korte, Brenda - Special Education Department Chair

Algebra IB, Study Skills, Basic Geometry

Email - bkorte@highlandcusd5.org

Eaker, Kate - Special Education: Fund. Physical Science, Fund. Study Skills, Fund. Computers, Team Teach Algebra, Team Teach Physical Science, Team Teach Life Science
Email - keaker@highlandcusd5.org

Elledge, Matt - Special Education: Adaptive PE, Pre-Algebra, Consumer Math, Drivers Education, American History,and Varsity Girls' Basketball Coach
Email - melledge@highlandcusd5.org

Goforth, Glenn – Special Education: SDEP Math, SDEP English, SDEP Science,

SDEP World History, SDEP ACT

Emailggoforth@highlandcusd5.org

Lowder, Khourtney - Special Education: Life Skills
Email - klowder@highlandcusd5.org

Stirewalt, Gayla - Special Education: Fundamental Health, Fundamental Algebra 1A, Team Teach Health

Email - gstirewalt@highlandcusd5.org

Sylvies, Claire - Special Education: TT B Eng II, Fund. St Sk, Fund. Eng II,

Fund. World History, Fund. Life Science

Email - csylvies@highlandcusd5.org

Tissier, Rebecca - Special Education: Program Assistant

Email - rtissier@highlandcusd5.org

Welz, Austin - Special Education: Fund. Concepts Math, TT B Algebra I,

Fund. Health, Fund. Life Science

Email - awelz@highlandcusd5.org

Visual Arts

Wander, Laura - Advanced Drawing I, II, III, & IV; Art I & II; Ceramics/Sculpture I, II, III, & IV; Painting I, II, III, & IV; AP Drawing, AP 2D Design, Ap 3D Design, Art Club Sponsor, NAHS Sponsor
Email - lwander@highlandcusd5.org